Placing BRISC on the Arkitrek blog

Ian Hall – one of our two volunteer architects for BRISC – has posted on the Arkitrek blog about his last trip to Pulau Tengah when BRISC was placed amongst the casuarinas and groves of hibiscus… Read his post here.

On my side – I know, I know, I’m behind on my posts! To come: posts on FSC certified recycled teak furniture and gorgeous batik in Yogyakarta, about soap, fair trade and the renaissance of the tastefully done boutique hotel in Georgetown, Penang, about the Batu Batu logo design journey and I’m sure by the time I next write – about chefs and diving on Pulau Tengah over the coming weekend. Until then – enjoy the Arkitrek post.

2 thoughts on “Placing BRISC on the Arkitrek blog

  1. Seeing that concrete well again just brought back so much fond memories of those days when I spent 4 months of my teenage years there as a refugee (1978 – 1979). Bathed there, laundered there, cleaned the sand from the fish/chicken (transported to the island from Mersing by UN organizations).

    Ooh…. that network of wells was the lifeline for us ! I was fortunate to be given the rare opportunity of visiting Pulau Tengah in 2007. What a treat for me. The concrete wells in “Long Beach” and another network of wells near the chalets seem to be the only few artifacts (and reminders) of “the island’s former transient residents” as Mr. Ian Hall referred to in his post. I hope the concrete wells will be preserved as part of BRISC plan. They are a big part of the island’s history.

    Hi Cher ! I know you will remember me.

    • Hi Howie! Thanks for the post – we love hearing stories of PT back in the day. Once BRISC is up, we will ensure that we get some time spent collecting and archiving all the stories and photos.

      As to those wells – YES – they are definitely being preserved. Ian and Seng Kheong are in fact designing the BRISC buildings around them so that they are integrated.

      Keep following us for more information.
      Cher

Leave a comment